top of page

4 Stages of Consciousness

Updated: Jun 4

Michael Beckwith from Agape International has been a Spiritual Teacher since the ’80s. One of the most profound things I’ve learned from listening to his teachings over the years is his belief that there are 4 stages of consciousness that equate to our spiritual development. By understanding these stages we can assess where we are and take action to shift our awareness up to the next level if we need to.

Stage 1 - ‘To Me’ Consciousness

This is where we believe life is happening to us. We believe we have no control over our lives or its course and so we see ourselves as a ‘victim’ of our circumstances which can only change if an external factor, another person or situation allows it to change.

This is our usual reaction when we experience something we don’t like, or when things don’t go our way. We continually blame others, our parents, our circumstances or other external factors like the economy. Anything that makes what is happening to us someone else's fault or responsibility, believing that there is nothing we can do to change things.

We may find ourselves regularly complaining to others to get them on our side or to get their pity. Complaints may be about our boss, our health, situations, the economy, lack of money, lack of opportunities and is demonstrated by disempowering self-talk like:

  • 'I'm broke because of x',

  • 'I can't do this because of x',

  • 'If that person would do x then I would be fine',

  • 'That person made a mistake and that's why I can't do x'

  • 'I'll never get a job in this economy'

  • 'I wish I could do more, but I'm always sick'

  • 'If it wasn't for x things would be ok'

When in this stage we commonly feel unhappy, powerless, separate, drained, alone, unsupported, stuck and small.

To move from this stage it is necessary to give up blame, to take responsibility for your life and make a decision to change things.

'Pain pushes you until the vision pulls you' - Michael Beckwith

Stage 2 - ‘By Me’ Consciousness

This is when we begin to take our power back, as we realise that we no longer need to be a ‘victim‘ of life, but we can positively affect our reality and our experiences.

At this stage, we start to leverage the Law of Attraction by observing our thoughts, beliefs and behaviours as we begin to take the necessary action to transform them. This brings us into alignment with what we want and who we want to be, rather than what we don’t want.

We begin manifesting more positive people, situations and outcomes. As a result, our reality shifts and we create a life lived on purpose. We feel more empowered as we realise that change starts with us so we start taking more positive actions like:

  • Affirming what we want

  • Giving up on complaining and blaming

  • Changing our future story

  • Setting goals

  • Taking steps towards our goals

  • Making better choices for our life

  • Moving away from what no longer serves us

  • Changing our self-talk so it's more empowering

  • Mastering our thoughts and behaviours.

  • Changing negative habits

  • Perhaps we start meditating, visualising, educating ourselves, improving our skills.

When we start experiencing the Law of Attraction working for us, we begin to trust a little more. We stop trying so hard and we allow ourselves to let go of wanting to control everything.

Stage 3 - ‘Through Me’ Consciousness

This stage can emerge not only from a place of complete trust as mentioned above but also when something is not going well in our life and we have tried everything in our spiritual toolbox to change things. Then suddenly, in complete despair, we just stop, we let go, we surrender. We allow Consciousness to flow through us and in that moment of surrender, the solution is revealed or the change manifests.

If we find ourselves pushing, trying and forcing, we have to trust that there are infinite possibilities for every situation and trust that the Universe has it in hand.

'There is an external broadcast that is always happening and we are here to tune in, to listen to it and then to be its expression.' - Michael Beckwith

Stage 4 - ‘As Me’ Consciousness

If we reach this stage we not only develop an intellectual understanding that we are all connected but we become Oneness and actually feel that connection. We have deep compassion for all living things and can see without judgement or attachment to people, things or outcomes. This is true freedom, true inner-peace.

In this enlightened state, we understand that nothing is wrong and nothing is right, it just 'is'. When we apply meaning to things, people and situations we limit their potential for growth and transformation. As we hold that thing, person or situation in the energy we have decided it belongs within, it cannot show up in our lives as anything other than what we expect. However, when we look at that thing with love, it has to transform.

We also realise that we are not just a part of the Universe but we ARE the Universe and everything is within us. All we have to do is choose.

How Do We Move Through the Stages

It's extremely unlikely that we will reach Stage 2, 3 or even 4 and remain there permanently so we mustn't be disappointed when we find ourselves back at Stage 1. The intention is to consciously progress through each stage as each perceived, negative event occurs in our lives.

Choosing to observe our feelings when something happens or someone says something we decide is hurtful and then seeking to move from ‘To Me’ Consciousness, to the next stage, whilst being kind and compassionate to ourselves, results in our spiritual expansion.

To watch my video on the ‘4 Stages of Spiritual Awareness’ click the link below.

Gwen x


Gwen Allison

Is a Transformational Life a Coach, Meditation Teacher and Reiki Master/Teacher aiming to open your mind to new possibilities, whilst fully supporting you and gently guiding you towards your goals and personal shifts.

Find out more:

Get in touch:

#consciousness #spiritualawareness #howtobecomeconscious #michaelbeckwith #agape #spiritualcoaching

5,689 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page